Game server admin's helping the community setup and maintain great dedicated game servers.
----Home----Submit News ----Forum--------Guides----


Go Back   FPSadmin.com > FPSadmin News > News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2016, 06:36 AM
rudedog's Avatar
rudedog rudedog is offline
Site Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 9,910
Downloads: 45
Uploads: 118
Rep Power: 30
rudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Skype™ to rudedog
No Battlefiled title for 2017

VideoGamer is reporting that EA/Dice will be focusing on Battlefront for 2017 and not a new Battlefield game.
Speaking at the Nasdaq 35th Investor Program earlier today, Jorgensen stated that EA "won't have another Battlefield back for a couple of years. Next year we'll have Battlefront, the Star Wars game."
More info and source: VideoGamer.com
__________________
Not so Rude -RudeDog via Twitter or Friend feed

Microsoft MVP 2009-2016 Games for Windows
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2016, 01:35 PM
sgTsTuFz's Avatar
sgTsTuFz sgTsTuFz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coralville, Iowa
Posts: 889
Downloads: 16
Uploads: 0
Rep Power: 13
sgTsTuFz is on a distinguished road
umm... battlefront came out Jan 2016. what gives? oh. Battleftont 2.

yeh, numbered sequels. Well, at least the 2 year release gap is back.

I take it that you missed out on the Black Friday sales of BF 1, rudedog.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2016, 03:56 PM
rudedog's Avatar
rudedog rudedog is offline
Site Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 9,910
Downloads: 45
Uploads: 118
Rep Power: 30
rudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Skype™ to rudedog
The best I could find was 39.99 and still can't seem to pull the trigger for some reason. I think once I rank up to 140 (currently 136) I'll get BF1

Only seems fitting that Dice wants to incorporate rank thus I'll max my rant before buying their next products.
__________________
Not so Rude -RudeDog via Twitter or Friend feed

Microsoft MVP 2009-2016 Games for Windows
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2016, 11:42 PM
CuzOfSloth CuzOfSloth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Michigan USA
Age: 53
Posts: 105
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Rep Power: 6
CuzOfSloth is on a distinguished road
Been having fun with BF1. I did wait a couple weeks before buying.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2016, 07:19 AM
rudedog's Avatar
rudedog rudedog is offline
Site Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 9,910
Downloads: 45
Uploads: 118
Rep Power: 30
rudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Skype™ to rudedog
how is the MP browser? Can I select and find my own servers? Is HC really HC? I don't want a Battlefield game wrapped in a Battlefront wrapper.
__________________
Not so Rude -RudeDog via Twitter or Friend feed

Microsoft MVP 2009-2016 Games for Windows
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2016, 05:09 PM
sgTsTuFz's Avatar
sgTsTuFz sgTsTuFz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coralville, Iowa
Posts: 889
Downloads: 16
Uploads: 0
Rep Power: 13
sgTsTuFz is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudedog View Post
how is the MP browser? Can I select and find my own servers? Is HC really HC? I don't want a Battlefield game wrapped in a Battlefront wrapper.
1st thing - when you start up this game, it will throw you into the Campaign - an airless, windowless torture cell, with you panicking to exit this damn garbage. Its happened to the few that I've been on TS with when starting this game. Hit ESC till you drop out.

Now you can find the following screens to work your way thru the menus. Just noticed that my filter was set to TDM, showing TDM servers.

Well, you can use the Server Browser - its on a page with 3 other tiles to get into playing. The servers are all tagged with [DICE] -










HARDCORE - player health setting is not reduced to 60% - bullet strength is lowered - what value I dunno. Problem is, no players have avatars - including teammates - it comes off like a Free For All from the Spearhead days.

So I haven't been playing that hardcore much at all. The few time that I have played regular BF1, I tend to go to an empty server with a bud on TS and do the shoot and run around explore thing. Full CQ servers can be fun, can be maddening or overwhelming, just like the last few BF titles.

Conquest mode is the only mode with 64 slots. All other modes are limited to 24 slots, as are the maps ... reduced in size, altho I haven't checked out all modes, just TDM and CQ.

You can rent servers - from within the game menu !! - $1.99 a day or something, upto $150 for 180 days, I believe. Renting a server removes the [DICE] tag - i think - you can see the server names of rented servers in the Custom servers browser.

One other thing, it seems like that most players are using the QuickMatch option to join a server, so the players cluster into the Conquest servers, leaving tons of empty servers. So you're either queued up, or got lucky and got in at map change, or joined - eventually - onto a friend, which is a bit of a trick itself. There are friend tiles on the right side, but its more predictable to join using the in-game Origin app - just like Steam - Shift + F1 - then click on Friends list and click on a friend's name to join that server.

oh yah, Battlelog is now a separate app for your phone or tab/pad - I tried it, not bad .. lol, I can't recall if I left my questionable shield or badge enabled - I've since switched from the Note 7 to an LG Stylo that doesn't allow switching apps to the sd card without a workaround. Still, this app is for the kiddies ... hell, you may have a kiddie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.