Game server admin's helping the community setup and maintain great dedicated game servers.
----Home----Submit News ----Forum--------Guides----


Go Back   FPSadmin.com > Guides and Reviews > Call of Duty

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:44 AM
rudedog's Avatar
rudedog rudedog is offline
Site Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 9,985
Rep Power: 31
rudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Skype™ to rudedog
Try making another copy of the short cut from the actual exe, then move it to your desktop.

Then try editing the target patch.
__________________
Not so Rude -RudeDog via Twitter or Friend feed

Microsoft MVP 2009-2016 Games for Windows
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:47 AM
OldDog's Avatar
OldDog OldDog is offline
Administrator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Age: 71
Posts: 1,496
Rep Power: 20
OldDog is a glorious beacon of lightOldDog is a glorious beacon of lightOldDog is a glorious beacon of lightOldDog is a glorious beacon of lightOldDog is a glorious beacon of light
Yeah, what RD said... Do the quotes just DISAPPEAR after you manually edit? That's a new one on me.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-14-2005, 03:16 AM
Bleeder Bleeder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 56
Rep Power: 15
Bleeder is on a distinguished road
Where is it i put the cfg files for UO server? i mean in what folder??
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:20 AM
MajorWoody's Avatar
MajorWoody MajorWoody is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Shrapnet.com
Posts: 928
Rep Power: 17
MajorWoody is a jewel in the roughMajorWoody is a jewel in the roughMajorWoody is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via MSN to MajorWoody
uo folder
__________________
:: Shrapnel Network LLC (Shrapnet.com) ::
:: Ventrilo Servers - TeamSpeak Servers - Web Hosting ::

:: www.shrapnet.com ::


**FREE** Webhosting for Modders, PM me for details.

:: The Slaughter House Clan ::
:: Recruiting for BF2, COD4, WoW and OGame ::

:: http://www.tsh-clan.com ::

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-12-2005, 09:52 PM
Butch Butch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 173
Rep Power: 14
Butch is on a distinguished road
Does using "set", "sets",or "seta" make any differance when making a config up?? For the most part all my prompts are "set" with a few "sets". I noticed all yours read "seta". Just Curious, Butch
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09-12-2005, 10:45 PM
rudedog's Avatar
rudedog rudedog is offline
Site Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 9,985
Rep Power: 31
rudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Skype™ to rudedog
Basicly(sp) they all do the same. Note seta will write the flag to a default.cfg file so if you for some reason remove a line in your cfg with a seta, it will still load via your default.cfg, see below:

set
Usage : rcon set [variable ] [ value ]
Sets the value of a variable.

seta
Usage : rcon seta [variable ] [ value ]
Sets the value of a variable and the archive flag so that the value will be saved to the user's Default.cfg file to be loaded each time the game is loaded.

sets
Usage : rcon sets [variable ] [ value ]
Sets the value of a variable and the server flag so that the variable is transmitted to clients upon connect.
__________________
Not so Rude -RudeDog via Twitter or Friend feed

Microsoft MVP 2009-2016 Games for Windows
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-13-2005, 10:23 PM
Butch Butch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 173
Rep Power: 14
Butch is on a distinguished road
So "set" used all the way when writing a config file is OK? Meaning using "set" will add the command and variable of the command you want. Example: set sv_maxping "150" and the command will be seen and used each time the server is started.

Are there any values of a variable that you feel should have "sets" or "seta" used rather than "set"?

Thank you for the reply. These are questions I have had in my head quite sometime. Butch
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-09-2005, 04:35 PM
grepsy grepsy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 4
Rep Power: 0
grepsy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to grepsy Send a message via Yahoo to grepsy
.cfg error

I'm new to setting up a CoD server, and I'm trying to do it in Linux. However, whenever I run the command ./cod_lnxded +set dedicated 2 +exec dedicated.cfg +map_rotate I get the following output.

COD MP 1.5 build linux-i386 Nov 15 2004
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/home/grepsy/.callofduty/main
/usr/local/cod/main/pakb.pk3 (60 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/paka.pk3 (41 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/pak9.pk3 (149 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/pak8.pk3 (235 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/pak6.pk3 (3 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/pak5.pk3 (4858 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/pak4.pk3 (1668 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/pak3.pk3 (1992 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/pak2.pk3 (694 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/pak1.pk3 (2642 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/pak0.pk3 (12816 files)
/usr/local/cod/main
/usr/local/cod/main/localized_english_pak5.pk3 (46 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/localized_english_pak3.pk3 (7 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/localized_english_pak2.pk3 (9 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/localized_english_pak1.pk3 (3736 files)
/usr/local/cod/main/localized_english_pak0.pk3 (1204 files)

File Handles:
----------------------
30160 files in pk3 files
execing default_mp.cfg
couldn't exec language.cfg
execing config_mp_server.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec_mp.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
Opening IP socket: localhost:28960
Hostname: toxicpanda.com
Alias: klear.toxicpanda.com
IP: 192.168.1.5
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Started tty console (use +set ttycon 0 to disable)
couldn't exec dedicated.cfg
map_rotate...

"sv_mapRotation" is:""

"sv_mapRotationCurrent" is:""

No map specified in sv_mapRotation - forcing map_restart.
Server is not running.
Hitch warning: 995 msec frame time

Any ideas as to why the language.cfg and the autoexec_mp.cfg files aren't loading?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:52 PM
rudedog's Avatar
rudedog rudedog is offline
Site Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 9,985
Rep Power: 31
rudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Skype™ to rudedog
It's been a while but check for missing pk3 files.

Is there a pak7.pk3 and localized_english_pak4.pk3?

If so it looks like your missing them
__________________
Not so Rude -RudeDog via Twitter or Friend feed

Microsoft MVP 2009-2016 Games for Windows
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-09-2005, 06:38 PM
grepsy grepsy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 4
Rep Power: 0
grepsy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to grepsy Send a message via Yahoo to grepsy
They are not there, but neither are they on my windows box in the main folder. I don't think they are being used. I could be wrong. But, I got it working and those missing files don't seem to affect it adversely. Thanks anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-09-2005, 08:07 PM
rudedog's Avatar
rudedog rudedog is offline
Site Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 9,985
Rep Power: 31
rudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to beholdrudedog is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Skype™ to rudedog
what are the two a and b pk3 files, are they mods?

If so try removing them or moving them to a different dir and restart the game.

Sorry it's been a while playing with cod files
__________________
Not so Rude -RudeDog via Twitter or Friend feed

Microsoft MVP 2009-2016 Games for Windows
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:17 AM
MajorDay's Avatar
MajorDay MajorDay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 441
Rep Power: 15
MajorDay is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down

**map_rotate...

"sv_mapRotation" is:""

"sv_mapRotationCurrent" is:""

No map specified in sv_mapRotation - forcing map_restart** The problem lies here!



You have no map rotation in your server .cfg , or it is configured incorrectly,please post your dedicated.cfg, and we can check it out.



"IP: 192.168.1.5" THIS IS A NETWORK ADDRESS,YOUR SERVER IS ONLY RUNNING ON YOUR NETWORK IT WILL NOT BE SEEN ON THE INTERNET!

ADD THIS TO YOUR START UP LINE

set net_ip (your internet ip address)

eg: ./cod_lnxded +set dedicated 2 +exec dedicated.cfg +set net_ip +++ +++ +++ +++ +map_rotate
__________________

Last edited by MajorDay; 12-10-2005 at 09:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-21-2006, 09:26 PM
TankHunter TankHunter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Rep Power: 0
TankHunter is on a distinguished road
Hi guys, I have done some reading and I can seem to get a multi gametype server running. I think I am missing a command line but maybe yall can help me out here.

// Exec Map Rotation

sv_mapRotationCurrent ""
set sv_mapRotation "gametype tdm map mp_peaks gametype sd map mp_uo_depot gametype sd map mp_sicily gametype dom map mp_foy gametype dom map mp_italy gametype ctf map mp_ou_harbor gametype ctf map mp_sicily gametype hq map mp_uo_powcamp gametype ctf map mp_uo_harbor gametype tdm map mp_brecourt gametype sd map mp_peaks gametype hq map mp_streets gametype sd map mp_hurtgen gametype ctf map mp_casino gametype tdm map mp_uo_depot gametype sd map mp_ou_powcamp gametype ctf map mp_streets gametype ctf map mp_berlin gametype tdm map mp_arnhem gametype tdm map mp_casino gametype hq map mp_chateau gametype hq map mp_uo_depot gametype dom map mp_kharkov "
set sv_mapRotationCurrentMap "mp_peaks "
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-22-2006, 04:40 PM
OldDog's Avatar
OldDog OldDog is offline
Administrator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Age: 71
Posts: 1,496
Rep Power: 20
OldDog is a glorious beacon of lightOldDog is a glorious beacon of lightOldDog is a glorious beacon of lightOldDog is a glorious beacon of lightOldDog is a glorious beacon of light
Well, there's a space after the last map name and before the ". You don't need the last line (even if you did, there's a space there as well), and I don't see a map_rotate...do you have a +map_rotate on your command line?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-26-2006, 08:52 AM
KillQuick KillQuick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Rep Power: 0
KillQuick is on a distinguished road
Problem with AWE212 for CoD1

Hello,

I setup my server and install the AWE212 Mod. I wait for it to Load up but nothing happens :S so i login the Dedicated Server, and see this in the Console

ERROR: Unknown projectile explosion "smoke" in "flashgrenade_mp"

I Dont know what to do, Anyhelp would be great, really in need of resolving this problem ASAP.

Andy

P.S dont know if i should Post here or not, sorry if its in the wrong place :S
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crow King's Simple Admin Tutorial rudedog Medal of Honor 30 12-27-2008 09:54 AM
Airborne server ?more info anyone TSI_Destroyer_NL MOH:A General Server Support 43 10-05-2007 02:59 PM
Rifles Only .CFG....HELP.... daygo140 CoD2 General server support 7 07-25-2006 10:16 AM
Server Start up and in game error x1Myst CoD2 General server support 4 11-06-2005 02:11 PM
The Map rotation saga continues codsniper CoD General server support 3 09-10-2004 10:23 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.