Game server admin's helping the community setup and maintain great dedicated game servers.
----Home----Submit News ----Forum--------Guides----


Go Back   FPSadmin.com > Call of Duty > Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 > CoD:MW3 General Server Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2011, 05:23 AM
PeKKeR PeKKeR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0
PeKKeR is on a distinguished road
MW3 Dedicated Server Running OK- Cant connect from LAN!!

Greetings

So i have managed to setup my own MW3 Dedi server on a server here in the office, viewable from the steam server list...everybody from the internet can connect on it just fine.... no complaints...

HOWEVER , im trying to connect to my dedicated server from my laptop with is in the same LAN, same switch even , i can see the server in the LAN browser...the game starts , logs in online and stucks at CONNECTING .... !!!!

everybody connects on my server except me!! and im in the same LAN!
all firewalls are off...

any ideas?

SOF
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2011, 07:18 AM
zeroy's Avatar
zeroy zeroy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Louth, Ireland
Posts: 2,400
Rep Power: 16
zeroy is on a distinguished road
I would still think Firewall is an issue here. Are those other PCs on the Internet also or LAN only? Seeing how bad the dedicated server setup is for MW3 i wouldnt be surprised is Internet access is required even for LAN play...
__________________
COD Wiki
My Portfolio

Last edited by zeroy; 11-17-2011 at 07:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2011, 07:29 AM
PeKKeR PeKKeR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0
PeKKeR is on a distinguished road
The other PCs are in the Internet, and basically the server is a proper dedicated server.

in the console when i load the server is gives me both IPs of the server - internal and external ..so it means that it binds to both ..

my pc can connect to any other dedicated server in the list , except to my one..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2011, 09:53 AM
vampiejay's Avatar
vampiejay vampiejay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 241
Rep Power: 12
vampiejay is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to vampiejay Send a message via Skype™ to vampiejay
this could be down to router or routing issues i have issue connecting to my web server using my external ip i have to use the local host or the internal ip as my router denies access this way.
__________________
Regards

John Maguire



VivaHosting
steam: vampiejay
xfire: 1steuid
msn: johnmaguire22@hotmail.com
skype: vampiejay
Twitter: vivahosting
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2011, 12:52 PM
zeroy's Avatar
zeroy zeroy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Louth, Ireland
Posts: 2,400
Rep Power: 16
zeroy is on a distinguished road
Forgot to ask... in your cmd line or server.cfg, you did set "dedicated" to 1 for LAN?
__________________
COD Wiki
My Portfolio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2011, 01:29 AM
PeKKeR PeKKeR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0
PeKKeR is on a distinguished road
Dedicated server is set to 2 , although i also tried changing it to 1 to see if it connect but it still doesnt.Btw im using the internal IP to connect because the server and client are both in the same LAN..the router doesnt get involved.

It doesnt even query the server for info...server times out !

anyway its a stupid problem ..doesnt make sense...i used to have many dedicated servers like this and never had problems...im fed up..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2011, 06:02 AM
vampiejay's Avatar
vampiejay vampiejay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 241
Rep Power: 12
vampiejay is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to vampiejay Send a message via Skype™ to vampiejay
the internal ip could be the issue then as the server is set to the external ip for the world to see in the browser but once you try to connect then it will use external ip and your router may refuse connection because of it
__________________
Regards

John Maguire



VivaHosting
steam: vampiejay
xfire: 1steuid
msn: johnmaguire22@hotmail.com
skype: vampiejay
Twitter: vivahosting
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2011, 01:14 AM
PeKKeR PeKKeR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0
PeKKeR is on a distinguished road
you could be right. i will try to set a static translation for the external ip to point to the internal ip so that it avoids the router

wil let you know

thx

SOF
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2011, 04:41 AM
PeKKeR PeKKeR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0
PeKKeR is on a distinguished road
Nope nothing helped!

i even run the server from another machine, and also used the dedicated=1 option and it still cant connect!! this is crazy...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-18-2012, 07:57 AM
Kadaro Kadaro is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Rep Power: 0
Kadaro is on a distinguished road
Turn OFF upnp in your router. If you need ports open for the server, define them manually in your routers port forwarding.

There might be a static route you can add, but I solved this turning upnp OFF.
You connect from LAN side, public connects from server browser side.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.