Game server admin's helping the community setup and maintain great dedicated game servers.
----Home----Submit News ----Forum--------Guides----


Go Back   FPSadmin.com > Call of Duty > Call of Duty 4 > CoD4 General server support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2008, 11:53 AM
Woet Woet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Rep Power: 0
Woet is on a distinguished road
Excessive RAM usage?

I run 2 COD4 servers on a linux debian box, and they all use around 300MB of RAM. No matter whether the server is idle or it has 64 players, it keeps being around 300MB :/

Is there any misconfiguration or tool we forgot to install, because this seems like a excessive amount of RAM being used.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2008, 04:05 PM
Busterking's Avatar
Busterking Busterking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Espanola, Ontario, Canada
Age: 64
Posts: 571
Rep Power: 0
Busterking is an unknown quantity at this point
Just checked my COD4 server, it uses 285MB

COD2 = 85MB

CODUO = 107MB

Windows server 2003
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2008, 09:05 PM
Woet Woet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Rep Power: 0
Woet is on a distinguished road
Dont you think 285mb for a idle server is a bit too much? :-/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2008, 10:27 PM
Busterking's Avatar
Busterking Busterking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Espanola, Ontario, Canada
Age: 64
Posts: 571
Rep Power: 0
Busterking is an unknown quantity at this point
Well we have 4 GB of ram so we can usually have 8 to 10 servers up so it really doesn't bother us that much.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2008, 06:37 AM
azalin azalin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 101
Rep Power: 10
azalin is on a distinguished road
thats around the mark

I was involved with linux servers running cod and they hovered around 350mb per instance idle.. and didnt really load up either...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2008, 05:11 AM
Woet Woet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Rep Power: 0
Woet is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by azalin View Post
thats around the mark

I was involved with linux servers running cod and they hovered around 350mb per instance idle.. and didnt really load up either...
Thats what I mean.. 350mb for a idle gameserver is excessive in my view.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2008, 10:22 AM
azalin azalin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 101
Rep Power: 10
azalin is on a distinguished road
yeah i know what you meant... as when i looked at mine... i thought the same thing... that much while idle ... wtf... but when loaded i noticed they didnt wind right up either... so i assumed the game required a fair bit of grunt to actually run the server instance.. and traffic after that was not as bigger issue as other games.. but i know tf2 uses a bit too ( not as much idle of course but still a fair bit 150-200mb)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-01-2008, 04:14 AM
impulseg impulseg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 0
impulseg is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to impulseg
I see 180 to 300 mb on average; dependent upon the current map.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
excessive, linux, ram, server, usage

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.