Game server admin's helping the community setup and maintain great dedicated game servers.
----Home----Submit News ----Forum--------Guides----


Go Back   FPSadmin.com > Call of Duty > Call of Duty 4 > CoD4 General server support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2010, 06:28 PM
maubo's Avatar
maubo maubo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 44
Posts: 52
Rep Power: 11
maubo is on a distinguished road
Question Disable COD4 RCon

Is there a way to disable COD RCon to our server?

I'am asking this because our COD4 server has been hacked today
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2010, 09:17 PM
Dark Saint Dark Saint is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Age: 44
Posts: 23
Rep Power: 0
Dark Saint is on a distinguished road
If you have FTP or TCadmin access to the server, you need to do the following.
FTP: Download your server.cfg file, find your entry for the rcon and change the password.

TCadmin: use your web browser and access your server config through that and change your rcon password.

In most cases, server providers have a tcadmin, or you will have to use FTP to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2010, 03:44 AM
maubo's Avatar
maubo maubo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 44
Posts: 52
Rep Power: 11
maubo is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Saint View Post
If you have FTP or TCadmin access to the server, you need to do the following.
FTP: Download your server.cfg file, find your entry for the rcon and change the password.

TCadmin: use your web browser and access your server config through that and change your rcon password.

In most cases, server providers have a tcadmin, or you will have to use FTP to do it.
I have a dedicated server box.

Now i've the following dvar set rcon_password ""

Does this mean nobody can connect via rcon password anymore?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2010, 10:43 PM
Dark Saint Dark Saint is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Age: 44
Posts: 23
Rep Power: 0
Dark Saint is on a distinguished road
That means that there is NO rcon available.

Do yourself a favor, you will need the rcon for it to do remote things, set it to some GIBBERISH word and numbers. A "Safe" password of some sort and call it a day. With call of Duty 4 you could use AGrcon and run your server from that.

Do not give out the rcon if you can get away with it.

The good thing about AGrcon is, you can assign Rcon profiles for friends and clan members. Great tool if you are looking to get the rcon set for clannies and such.

The unfortunate thing about some of the "newer" games is, they just don't have the capabilities the older games have or had.

Take Soldier of Fortune2 for instance. ROC Arrnor ( a talented coder and Creator of the ROCmod for SOF2) set the rcon to an ADMINISTRATOR panel within the game. If your game GUID was put into the sysop, admin, or GOD CFG file, you were able to access the rcon commands through a GUI from within the game.

This was done with a game that is 9 years old, I can't believe the companies these days can not bring themselves into the 21st century, let alone the 20th.

Hope this has helped.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2010, 05:52 AM
maubo's Avatar
maubo maubo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 44
Posts: 52
Rep Power: 11
maubo is on a distinguished road
It helped me!

Very important is to know that hack kiddies are getting your server.cfg. Gibberish passwords isn't gonna help ya. I've found some evidence on Youtube about this stupid hack. It seriously shocked me

Maybe it's wise Zeroy,MikeNomad and/or Rudedog take a look at this threat.

But we are now using the PunkBuster Server WebTool for COD4.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cod, disable, disable cod rcon, rcon

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.