PDA

View Full Version : Help with encoding/decoding packets in C#

punky
05-12-2010, 07:03 AM
Hi all.

I'm trying to do a BC2 query tool using C# and i'm really struggling with the encoding/decoding packets. I just can't get it to make sense in my head what the process is.

I have tried reading the EA PDF which doesn't make it clear
I have tried reading the protocol info on b2tech.org, likewise

I have tried to port it over from examples:

1. I tried to extract the methods out of Procon but its so integrated it makes my head spin.

2. I tried porting BC2RCON (from VB both by hand and by online converter) and I get to a point and fail.

3. I tried porting PHP scripts but the typeless nature is confusing.

4. I tried porting over a Java version but I get to where the bitwise operations are and fail.

The problem is i'm an accompished programmer but not really used bitwise operations and byte arrays before so when porting i'm not sure.

Can someone either explain in clear english the process of encoding and decoding a packet so I can code it myself or can the port the python functions over to C#? I can post some of my previous attempts that can be fixed if you prefer.

Many thanks in advance. I'm starting to have dreams about byte arrays and uints now!

Phogue
05-12-2010, 07:43 AM
If it's flat encoding/decoding packets in C# then you can just look at the Packet class in procon, if that narrows it down the search a little =)

http://procon.codeplex.com/SourceControl/changeset/view/233c85cb14dd#src%2fPRoCon.Core%2fPacket.cs

Using the procon class the psuedocode for looping in a recv for incoming packets:
Connection = Connect()

byte[] FullByteStream;

While (Connection.Open == true) {

// You might not receive a full packet in one ReadBytes() call.
FullByteStream += Connection.ReadBytes()

if (FullByteStream.Length >= 12) {

// Read an int from the start of the byte stream
int PacketLength = BitConverter.ToUInt32(FullByteStream, 4);