rudedog
01-11-2009, 06:43 PM
Update: 10:11PM est (-5 GMT)
402 has just posted via twitter (see this is why you should all be using twitter and while at it following me :-) )fourzerotwo Getting word of a fake beta invite email going out to people from COD5BETA@infinityward.com. FYI - Don't open it if you get one. It's bad.
402 has posted some more info on his blog (http://www.fourzerotwo.com/2009/01/11/beware-of-fake-cod5-beta-invites/):
This is a bit more widespread than I originally thought when I sent out the warning on twitter (@fourzerotwo (http://www.twitter.com/fourzerotwo) and @Infinity_Ward (http://www.twitter.com/infinity_ward)) earlier today, but there is a FAKE email going out to people which appears to come from COD5BETA@infinityward.com (see above).
If you receive one, just delete it. Don’t open it, reply, or click any links - it’s fake and could contain a virus or be an attempt to phish personal information. The body of the email is an exact replica of the one I sent out during the COD4 Beta, except they’ve replaced all references of Call of Duty 4.
For the record, there is no beta. Believe me, if we were having a beta, I’d be screaming it from every internet rooftop from Twitter to Forums. We have yet to even officially announce our next project, let alone a beta for it. Although, it is kind of flattering to think Spammers think a beta for our next game is luring enough to get people to open. WATCH OUT Penis Enlargement spam mail, there’s a new kid on the block!
402 has just posted via twitter (see this is why you should all be using twitter and while at it following me :-) )fourzerotwo Getting word of a fake beta invite email going out to people from COD5BETA@infinityward.com. FYI - Don't open it if you get one. It's bad.
402 has posted some more info on his blog (http://www.fourzerotwo.com/2009/01/11/beware-of-fake-cod5-beta-invites/):
This is a bit more widespread than I originally thought when I sent out the warning on twitter (@fourzerotwo (http://www.twitter.com/fourzerotwo) and @Infinity_Ward (http://www.twitter.com/infinity_ward)) earlier today, but there is a FAKE email going out to people which appears to come from COD5BETA@infinityward.com (see above).
If you receive one, just delete it. Don’t open it, reply, or click any links - it’s fake and could contain a virus or be an attempt to phish personal information. The body of the email is an exact replica of the one I sent out during the COD4 Beta, except they’ve replaced all references of Call of Duty 4.
For the record, there is no beta. Believe me, if we were having a beta, I’d be screaming it from every internet rooftop from Twitter to Forums. We have yet to even officially announce our next project, let alone a beta for it. Although, it is kind of flattering to think Spammers think a beta for our next game is luring enough to get people to open. WATCH OUT Penis Enlargement spam mail, there’s a new kid on the block!